Department of State: Division of Professional Regulation: Board of Charitable Gaming

Bookmark and Share

Bingo Event

Who Can Apply for a Bingo Permit

Volunteer fire companies, veterans organizations, religious or charitable organizations, and fraternal societies that have been in existence a minimum of two years may apply for a bingo permit, provided:

  • The net profits from permitted bingo events are used solely for the achievement of the purposes of the organization as described in the organization’s by-laws.
  • At the time of application, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) recognizes the organization as a charitable organization as described in Section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code.

You must receive your Bingo Event permit before advertizing or holding the event.

Do not complete this application if applying for a Charitable Gaming, Instant Bingo, Raffle or Texas Hold’Em Tournament permit. Applications for these types of events are available at Forms.

Limitations on Bingo Events

  • Bingo events are limited to six hours. Games may not begin prior to 12:00 p.m. and must conclude by 1:00 a.m.
  • No games shall be conducted in any room or area where alcoholic beverages are sold or served during the progress of the game.
  • When a bingo event is conducted in conjunction with a bazaar, carnival, festival or similar affair scheduled for more than one day, but less than ten consecutive days, the function shall be considered one licensed event.
  • No one under 18 years old is allowed to attend any Bingo game where the prize is money. No one under 16 years old is allowed to participate in any Bingo game nor to conduct or assist in conducting any Bingo game. However, persons who are 14 years old or older may act as waiters/waitresses in the handling of food or drinks at a Bingo event.
  • No more than 40 bingo games (excluding cookie jar bingo) may be conducted on a single occasion.
  • The maximum cash value of a prize awarded for a single bingo game cannot exceed $350.
  • The maximum cash value total of all prizes awarded for an entire bingo event cannot exceed $3,000.

Applying for a Bingo Permit (First-Time Applicants)

  • Enclose with your application and fee, documentation from the IRS dated within the past 12 months, showing proof of the following:
    • Organization’s legal name
    • physical Delaware address
    • EIN or Federal ID Number
    • 501(c) IRS Determination

      These items may be included on one or separate documents from the IRS, but all documents must be dated within the past 12 months.

  • Enclose a copy of your organization’s formation documents, such as Articles of Incorporation, By-Laws, Constitution, Charter, etc. The documentation submitted must include your organization’s purpose and/or mission statement.

  • Enclose a letter on your organization’s letterhead designating up to five Members-In-Charge of the bingo event(s). The letter must grant the Member(s)-In-Charge the authority to submit bingo applications on behalf of the organization and to be responsible for all permitted bingo events. The letter must be signed by an officer of the organization and dated.

Applying for a Bingo Permit (All Applicants)

  • Submit a completed, signed and notarized Application for Bingo Permit.

  • Enclose non-refundable processing fee by check or money order made payable to “State of Delaware.”

  • If you are relying on a group exemption letter issued to a national or parent organization, enclose a:
    • signed letter from the national or parent organization on its letterhead, specifically stating that your chapter is properly affiliated, and
    • current copy of the parent organization’s IRS group exemption letter dated within the past 12 months

  • If the event will be held at any location other than the organization’s physical Delaware address, enclose a:
    • letter from the premises owner (on owner’s letterhead) allowing your organization to hold its event(s) on a specific date, or
    • copy of your lease or rental agreement.
    • The Board reserves the right to accept or reject any application for the conduct of a function on specially leased or donated premises.

  • If a Member(s)-In-Charge has changed since your last bingo application, enclose a letter on your organization’s letterhead designating the new Member(s)-In-Charge. The letter must grant the Member(s)-In-Charge authority to submit bingo applications on behalf of the organization and to be responsible for all permitted bingo events. The letter must be signed by an officer of the organization and dated.

  • Complete and submit Addendum A with your application.
    • If you are applying for more than one bingo event, and the winning card arrangements and/or prizes will vary on different event dates, you must complete and submit an Addendum A for each proposed event date.
    • Note that you must enter the retail cash value for each prize listed on Addendum A. Entering “varies”, “50/50,” “depends on the number of players” or any other indeterminate amount will result in a delay in processing and possible denial of your application.

Application Review Process

The Board will only review applications that meet all of the following requirements:

  • The application form must be complete, signed and notarized. As forms are subject to change at any time, be sure to use the current form from the Board’s website each time you apply for a gaming permit. Obsolete forms will be rejected. 
  • Applications must be received by the Board office no later than 10 business days before the next scheduled Board meeting in order to be added to the Board’s agenda.
  • The application must be accompanied by the correct fee. Applications without fees will be rejected.
  • Applications must include all supporting documentation as listed on this Instruction Sheet.
  • Your organization’s After Occasion Reports (AORs) must be up-to-date. AORs are due no later than 30 days after a gaming event. If your organization’s AORs for past events are overdue, the Board will not review your application for any future event.

If your proposed event date passes before the Board reviews and approves your application, you are not permitted to hold your event. If all event dates listed on your application pass before the Board reviews and approves them, you are not permitted to hold any of the events and you will forfeit the non-refundable processing fee.

You are not permitted to submit alternate event dates to be inserted into your application if all proposed dates pass before the Board reviews and approves it. You must submit a new application and processing fee for the alternate dates.

Share: 

Last Updated: Tuesday, 01-Apr-2014 14:06:17 EDT
site map   |   about this site   |    contact us   |    translate   |    delaware.gov